Are You In
Compliance With New Jersey's Diesel Emissions
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) J1667,
New Jersey Administrative Code 7:27-14 and 7:27B-4
Date of the Regulation
July 1, 1998
Who is Subject to Emissions Testing?
Fleets having a New Jersey registered
diesel-powered motor vehicle, with a gross vehicle weight rating of 18,000
pounds or more are subject to this regulation.
Should the Vehicle be Tested?
A vehicle must be tested for smoke opacity
within 90 days of their month of registration renewal.
Required Testing Frequency
Annual inspection required
New Jersey standards require that all heavy
duty vehicles powered by a diesel engine and/or operating on New Jersey highways
submit to a smoke emissions test.
with 1991 or newer model-year diesel engines cannot exceed an
opacity level of more than 40%.
with 1974-1990 model-year diesel engines cannot exceed an opacity level of
more than 55%.
1974 or older model-year diesel engines cannot exceed an opacity level of
more than 70%.
What AreThe Penalties for
National Safety Compliance offers Emission
Inspections at your facility seven days a week, hours to accommodate your
Failure to test or
submit to test will result in a mandatory $500.00
fine plus court costs.
In addition to fines for non-compliance
should your vehicle fail roadside will result in additional fines
ranging from $170.00 up to $1,400.00.
How do I get my fleet
into compliance and avoid citation?
Call NSC now to
schedule an appointment (800) 869-3926